“Free My Niggas”

creativity, Inspiration, Lifestyle, Music, poetry, WORDS

We caught up with “The OD Sniper,” Roy Machel for a quick interview after a recording session in the ever-busy downtown, Johannesburg.

For those who don’t know yet, Machel is a South African rapper born in Elim, Limpopo. He put out his first single titled “The Fall” early this year and has been showing enormous growth with each release. 

What’s happening, man? It’s great to finally have a seat with you to learn more about you and your content-filled music 

“Yeah yeah. Im glad to be here my g”

Briefly describe who Roy is.What do you do?

“Uhm…..Roy is a rapper,song writer”

What inspired you to do what you’re doing?

“I’ve alway found this hiphop culture fascinating from early age,the lifestyle,the attitude,the messages behind the bars and shit…I’ve always wanted people to hear my opion on things,and hiphop was the only thing i thought would get my truth out there. From an early age”

How have your experiences been in the industry?

“We still on the come up,we still in the kitchen cooking up. I’m learning as much as i can about the industry. Studio time,team meetings and stuff been hella nice. So I’m kinda prepared”

What are you currently working on?

“A whole lot of things, but you should be on the look out for my debut EP titled Heartbreak Weekend. You can expect that anytime this year”

What can people expect from your EP?

“The Truth. A story about change.”

How would you describe your music?

“Street poetry, the black truth. That might be a bit too much. But im just on my street pastor steez. I’m a trapstar, but i wouldn’t call my music trap. I just make music”

How do you differentiate your sound/music from the “present/commercial” daily sound?

“The sound is authentic,everything is real. Own concepts, flows… I’m not trying to make something just to appeal to the peaple, I’m doing it my way, the real way”

Who have you worked with previously, or even recently?

“Once worked on something with a childhood homie of couple years back. Currently its just myself and my producer, Deckstar who’s just changed his name to “Lincoln Long” (laughs). I’m trying to collaborate as little as possible right now because we still got a lot of ideas and moods to put out first”

Are you currently signed with any record label?

“Yeah. Im with OD”

What’s OD, for those who don’t know?

“OD is a record label, Ohne Dämpfer Music, which means ‘without a mute’ in english. Its a movement about to revolutionize the music scene”

What’s your ultimate goal in the industry?

“The throne abviously,but i also want to help myself and others jump out the system. Instead of doing whats expected from you,do what you expect from you. If you have a dream, pursue that no matter what your parents or friends will say”

What inspires you?

“Life. My life experiences, you know. The things I come across in this jungle”


What should people expect from you in a near/distant future?
“Geniune music, geniune music”

Most rappers or musicians believe they are what ‘the game’ needs, what do you think sets you apart?

“Like I said, I don’t just do it just to appeal to the people, I do it because it has to be done. It was written”

If there was one thing you would like people to remember you for, what would it be?

“That I did it my way”

Thank you very much for your time and all the best with the dream, man 

“Thank you and thanks for the interview”

Follow the links below to stream and download Merchant by Roy Machel. You can also follow him on Twitter or like his Facebook page from the links provided. 

Until our next story, keep on making history!

Merchant: 

Twitter: @roymachel_od

Facebook: https://m.facebook.com/roymachelod

Leave a comment